Home Articules The cabinet approved plans to build a new university

The cabinet approved plans to build a new university

The cabinet approved plans to build a new university

University graduates
South Africa will become home to two more universities, according to the Ministry of Higher Education. The ministry went on to outline in detail how they intend to complete their upcoming infrastructure commitment.

The Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET) is set to add to its 26 public universities across the country. According to Higher Education Minister Blade Nzimande, the ministry plans to build two new universities.

The minister further said that the process of building a new university is preceded by a feasibility study to ascertain the demand for new institutions in identified areas or areas of interest.

The new University of Science and Innovation in Ekurhuleni and the new University of Crime Detection in Hammanskraal were both approved by Cabinet prior to the announcement last year. In its 2022 performance plan report, the DHET said a Steering Committee was established in April 2021 to carry out a feasibility study and meet on a monthly basis.

The committee consists of officials from the South African Police Service, DSI, National Research Foundation, Cities of Ekurhuleni, Tshwane, USAF, Tshwane University of Technology, Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University, University of Pretoria, Johannesburg and the Witwatersrand.


However, these two higher education institutions are designed to alleviate the country’s ongoing skills need. The first of the two institutions will be located in the town of Ekurhuleni, while the second will be built in Hammanskraal in North Gauteng.

Department of Higher Education spokesperson Ishmael Mnisi said earlier this year that the first of the two institutions would be located in Ekurhuleni and that the second would be built in Hammanskraal in North Gauteng.

The Minister added that if the feasibility studies show that these facilities can be used, plans are being made to repair the current facilities in Giyani, Limpopo Province, to become part of the Tshwane University of Technology.

The Minister added that there are plans to upgrade the existing facilities in Giyani, Limpopo Province, which will be attached to the Tshwane University of Technology, if a feasibility study supports the use of these facilities.

The department went on to say that the new University of Science and Innovation will focus on science and innovation disciplines, including STEM subjects such as:

Data Science;
Machine learning;
Artificial Intelligence;
Hydrogen-powered technologies such as smart transportation and logistics systems.
The second university will focus on crime detection and prevention. The new university is to improve the quality of the South African Police Service’s General and Specialized Investigations (SAPS).

See our website for more information on applying to university 2023.

Any inquiries do by dropping them in the comment boxbelow.

Follow on Facebook For More

Follow on Twitter 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here